2008 Georgia Schools of Excellence Announced

2008 Georgia Schools of Excellence

2008 Georgia Schools of Excellence

26 schools from across the state were selected a Georgia Schools of Excellence. The schools are chosen from each congressional district and honored in one of two categories: Top 10% and Greatest Gains. Only one school per district may be selected for each category.

Schools chosen for the Top 10% category are recognized as being in the Top 10% of all Georgia schools as measured by assessments in reading and math. Schools chosen for the Greatest Gains category have shown the greatest continuous achievement for the past three years as measured by assessments in reading and math.

Additionally, in order to be considered for the recognition, a school must:

  1. Meet AYP for a minimum of three consecutive years
  2. Meet or exceed state mean scores in Science and Social Studies
    (with the exception of K-2 schools, which do not test in this area)
  3. Not be considered a “Persistently Dangerous School” under
    the Unsafe School Choice Option of No Child Left Behind
  4. Offer a minimum of two AP courses (grades 9-12 only)
  5. Be in existence for five years

Schools that have been recognized as a Georgia School of Excellence in the past five years are not eligible to win again UNLESS the only school or schools eligible to receive the honor in a certain district have won within the last five years. If no schools qualify in a specific Congressional District, an award is not given.

(School, County System)


1, Mamie Lou Gross Elementary, Camden
3- tie, Northgate High, Coweta
3- tie, Double Churches Elementary, Muscogee
5, Druid Hills High, DeKalb
6, Manning Oaks Elementary, Fulton
7, Loganville Elementary, Walton
8-tie, Eastside High, Newton
8-tie, Centerville Elementary, Houston
9, Otwell Middle, Forsyth
10, East Jackson Elementary, Jackson
11- tie, Kemp Elementary, Cobb
11- tie, Trion High, Trion City

TOP 10%

3- tie, Huddleston Elementary, Fayette
3- tie, McIntosh High, Fayette,
4, Browns Mill Elementary, DeKalb
5, Kittredge Elementary, DeKalb
6- tie, Timber Ridge Elementary, Cobb
6- tie, Dickerson Middle, Cobb
6- tie, Lassiter High, Cobb
7- tie, Sharon Elementary, Forsyth
7- tie, Brookwood High, Gwinnett
8, Quail Run Elementary, Houston
9, South Forsyth High, Forsyth
10, Davidson Magnet School, Richmond
11, Harrison High, Cobb
12, Savannah Arts Academy, Savannah-Chatham